Facts about Cyprus

Area: 9,251 sq km
Capital: Nicosia
Language: Greek, Turkish
Currency: Euro
  Turkish Lira
Population: 784,301
Coastline: 648 sq km

Home > Tourist Info > Visa Requirements

Cyprus Visa Requirements

After political changes in Europe for the past couple of years now, and accession of the Republic of Cyprus (South Cyprus) into the European Union dating 1 May 2004, regulations for entry to the Cyprus Island are becoming less strict. However, for some countries limited options still exist. Turkey residents can visit North Cyprus, but South Cyprus is for them literally inaccessible (unless they marry a Turkish Cypriot).

Visa Requirements for North Cyprus

The citizens of European Union nations, Turkey, USA, Canada, Mexico, Japan, Switzerland, Norway, Israel, Pakistan, Azerbaijan, Australia and New Zealand do not require visa to enter the Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus. All other nationals should check their position with regard to passports and visa with the nearest Embassy or Representative of the Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus . Foreign country visitors have their passports stamped at the arrival checkpoints of Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus, which are only legal ports - Ercan airport (or military airports for military purposes), Famagusta and Kyrenia seaport and when entering North Cyprus via South Cyprus your passport is stamped at border checkpoints. If you travel from North Cyprus to South Cyprus , visa form needs to be completed and stamped at the border checkpoints. This paper visa form is loosely inserted into the passport and stamped either you depart or arrive in North Cyprus.

North Cyprus Residency and Work Permit

After arriving in the TRNC (the Turkish Republic of North Cyprus ) you can stay for up to 3 months which is provided by your tourist visa. If you consider prolonging your stay, you need to apply for a residency permit at local Immigration Office which allows you to reside in Northern Cyprus . Your work permit should be issued prior to arrival in North Cyprus.

For further information about North Cyprus and regarding visa requirements, please contact the nearest North Cyprus Embassy or Representative Office abroad.

Visa Requirements for South Cyprus

The legal ports of entry into the Republic of Cyprus are the airports of Larnaca and Paphos and the seaports of Larnaca, Limassol, Latsi and Paphos. If you travel to South Cyprus via North Cyprus then you have to cross the border checkpoints and have your visa paper form stamped upon departure from Northern Cyprus . Turkish mainland citizens are not allowed to enter South Cyprus . For those intending to be employed in the Republic of Cyprus the issue of an employment permit by the Migration officer and all the necessary documents are required prior to departure for South Cyprus . Visa requirements for entry to the Republic of Cyprus vary, but as of latest they remain as follows.

South Cyprus Visa Requirements

South Cyprus Visa Application

Home | About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Disclaimer |